First ADM Technology Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post as the new technology director for the ADM Community Schools, and I’m very excited to be getting started.

While I’m learning about the district, I think it’s also important that people have an opportunity to get to know me. I’m originally from Davenport, Iowa, and attended Davenport Central High School. My parents are both college professors, so I had a suspicion from a young age that I’d end up in the field of education in one way or another.

I’ve been involved with technology for many years, most recently working for the past four years with the technology department at the Carlisle Community Schools. Prior to my work at Carlisle, I served as technology coordinator at Scattergood Friends School in West Branch, and served as chief technician for a project called The WiderNet Project based in the School of Library and Information Science at The University of Iowa. In off hours, I serve as an adjunct professor of Political Science at Simpson College in Indianola, and teach private percussion lessons at my home in Des Moines.

My undergraduate work was at Beloit College in Beloit, Wisconsin, where I earned a BA in Religious Studies in 2003. While studying at Beloit, I worked for four years with the college’s Information Technology Services. In 2007, I finished work on a Master’s degree in Political Science at The University of Iowa, and in 2011 (just prior to beginning here at ADM), I finished my Master’s in Educational Policy and Leadership Studies at The University of Iowa.

My wife, Sara, and I have been married for three years, and currently live in (and enjoy restoring) our 101-year old home in Des Moines with one dog and one cat.

Wrigley the Siberian Husky

Wrigley the Siberian Husky

Photon the Cat

Photon the Cat

Sara teaches Physics (AP, IB, and 9th grade accelerated) at Central Academy in Des Moines, and is actually working for this summer at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory near Chicago, which specializes in high energy particle research and is home to the nation’s largest particle accelerator (the Tevatron). Fans of Big Bang Theory, as Sara and I are, may recognize the Tevatron’s larger and newer cousin, the Large Hadron Collider in Switzerland.

In my free time, I enjoy the outdoors, especially biking, hiking, disc golf, and ultimate frisbee. During the winter I play on a rec league hockey team, and most summers (this will be the first exception in years) my wife and I ride RAGBRAI, the bicycle ride across Iowa. Sara and I are both avid baseball fans (go Cubs!), and try to make a point of visiting a new major league park each season, in addition to trying to catch a few spring training games in Arizona each spring. During the fall and winter I’m always cheering on the Hawkeyes. Also in my free time, I try to do as much as I can with music, and have been a professional percussionist for years. I have served as a high school drumline instructor, and also compose marching band music and drill.

I really look forward to getting to know the ADM community, and working with all of you to do what we can to make technology as valuable a learning tool as it can be.

Adam Kurth

This entry was posted in Non-Tech Information, Tech Department News, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

